4th round of the European Team Championship: Belgium made a draw against Switzerland (2-2)

On 17/01, Belgian team made a draw against Switerland.
Lucas Neirynck and Lucman Bounoider won, Jan Ramon and Gabriel Mercier lost

Complete results here:

Belgian team is now 8th out of 10 teams in the B-league:

Pair Larisa Popescu 1d & Sven Cuyt 2d became 2022 rengo Belgian champion

By beating in the last days of 2022 the only other registered pair (Marie Jemine 1d & Gints Engelen 1k), the pair Larisa Popescu 1d & Sven Cuyt 2d conquered the title of 2022 Belgian champion.
Congratulations to them.

Hopefully, there will be more participating pairs in the 2023 edition in this (fun) tournament (in which non-mixed pair are allowed).

3rd round of the European Team championship: Belgium crushed by Sweden (0-4)

On 13/12, the Belgian team (Jan, Gabriel, Sven, Gints) has been heavily beaten by the Swedish team ((0-4).

After 3 rounds, Belgium is 8th out of 10 teams in B-league:

Chinese Bai Baoxiang 2022 world amateur champion; Lucman Bounoider 25th (out of 45 competitors) with 3/6

Chinese Bai Baoxinag won unbeaten (6/6) the 2022 edition of the WAGC, ahead of 5 players with a 5/6 sheet from (in that order) Korea, Hong Kong, France (!) (Thomas Debarre), Japan and Taïpeh (Taïwan).
Bai Baoxiang had already won the WAGC in 2011, 2016, 2017. He is called one of China's Four Titans of Amateur Go (the other 3 are Hu Yuqing, Ma Tianfang and Wang Chen.

Note the great performance by Thomas Debarre, 7-d, from France who ends 4th.

Our representative this year was Lucman Bounoider (3-d) who got a 3/6 score (wins against: Philippe 1k, Hungary (a young player) 1k and Guatemala 5k; lost to: India 2d, Malaysia 5d and Vietnam 5d)

Interclubs Results 2022

The results of the 2022 interclubs are in. We had 5 participating clubs this year Antwerpen, Gent, Leuven, Pantin and Phénix.

Phénix was ultimately victorious with Antwerpen and Pantin in second and third place respectively

Detailed results can be found here

Lucman Bounoider (3-d) extend for a third time his title of "Belgian champion of rapid games"

Lucman Bounoider (3-d) won unbeaten the 2022 edition of the Belgian Championship of rapid games (15 min per player, sudden death; handicap - 2).
He has already been champion last year and in 2017.

There were only 5 participants (a disappointing figure), but still a fun tournament for everyone - that has been quietly played from home.

On the podium, Lucman got 4 wins, ahead of Jan Ramon (4-d) (3 wins) and Yvan Nollet (4-k) (2 wins).
Michael Silcher (4-k) got 1 win, and Jean-Denis Hennebert (5-k) ended with no win.

European Team Championship season 2022-23: Belgium made a draw in 1st round, and lost in the 2nd round

On 18/10, Belgian team made a draw (2-2) in the 1st round against Finland:
and lost in the 2nd round (on 15/11) 1-3 to Italia

After 2 rounds, Belgium is 8th out of 10 teams in B-league. But the competition has only just begun...

Jia Hui Chen wins the 36th edition of the Brussels tournament

Chinese female 5-d JiaHui Chen won unbeaten the 36th edition of Brussels tournament, ahead of the favourite, Zihan Yan (CH, 6d).
JinMing He (CH, 3d) completed this all-Chinese podium.

Best Belgian players were Sven Cuyt (4th) and Gabriel Mercier (5th), both with 3/5, while last year's winner, Lucman Bounoider ended 6th with a 2/5 score.

There were 52 participants.

JiaHui Chen was the only unbeaten participant. Players with 4 wins were: Renaud Gaban (3-k), Jonathan Pittonet (4-k), Kenny Bebacq (5-k), Thomas Lemaire (8-k), Eric Baijot (10-k), Gaëtan De Menten (12-k), Marie Evrard (14-k) and Léo Guillaume (18-k). Congratulations to them !

Complete results:

KIM Jung-Sung wins unbeaten the Korean Prime Minister Cup; Lucas Neirynck 22nd out of 52 participants.

The Korean Prime Minister Cup is the Korean version of the World Amateur Championship.

The 2022 has been won by 1. Jung-Sun KIM (Korea), who ended unbeaten (but in absence of representative from China).
Five competitors got a 5/6 score: in the order after tie-breaker:
2. Yu-Chang LAI (Taïwan),
3. Minoru OZEKI (Japan)
4. (best European and best Westerner) Rob Van Zeijst (Netherlands) (who is nearly 60 years old)
followed by the representative of 5. Vietnam and of 6. New-Zeeland.

Our representative was Lucas Neirynck, who ended 22th out of a field of 52 competitors, with a 3/6 score and rather expected results: + against Iran, Columbia and Finland; - against Japan, New-Zeeland and France.

Completed results here:

Benjamin Dréan-Guénaïzia 2022 European champion

Frenchman Benjamin Dréan-Guénaïzia (6-d) is the 2022 European champion.
He won (rather surprisingly) the final against the great favourite (in absence of Russian Ilya Shikchine), Ukranian Artem Kachanovskij (2-p).
Frederick Blomback (Sweden, 6-d) won the small final against Serbian Nikola Mitic (7-d).

Artem is suffering the "Raymond Poulidor's syndrome": up till now, he has never been European champion. He was finalist in 2022, 2021 and 2019, and semi-finalist in 2020 and 2017.

Complete results of the European Championship:


The Korean professional Won Jin Choi (1-p) won unbeaten the open tournament, ahead of his countrymen Kim Yuchan (another 1-p) (9 wins out of 10 rounds) and Kim Dohyup (7-d) (with 8/10).
Chinese Yang Yaolin ("5-d") ended 4th with 7 wins.
Best European is Stanislaw Frejlak (PL, 1-p), 6th with 6 wins.
To be noticed: the great performance of the young Italian (16 years old) Davide Bernardis ("4-d") who ended 8th with 6 wins (he beat a Korean 7-d and Cornel Burzo, 6-d).
And also the good results by our 2 Belgian participants: Sven Cuyt, 3/4 as a 2-d and Wouter Baert, 4/5 as a 8-k. Congratulations to them.

Complete results of the open tournament:

Syndicate content